Another New Look 6145

And we are back to my favourite pattern of the past few months New Look 6145, I think that this is my 4th version, , I love a hard working pattern that can be hacked in all different kind of ways and this is a goodun, I’ve used it to create a top here, a denim version here and a lovely white Linen version for summer (sorry not photographed). Now I’m am not very good at seeing past the (sometimes) rubbish cover photos on (especially Big 4) patterns to the true potential hidden with in, but luckily we now have the wonderful web to direct us to inspiring versions that sewers and bloggers have created.  I know I wouldn’t have given this pattern a second look if I hadn’t stubbled across Trine’s lovely modern versions here and here (already blogged on previous post I know, but good enough for a second view!)

New Look 6145

New Look 6145

The jerry is a lovely organic cotton interlock that I bought from Village Haberdashery, they still have it available here and I would really recommend it, it is beautifully soft, with a nice weight, I also bought some of the green stripe for a t-shirt for my son and can attest that it washes and wears very well.

New Look 6145

New Look 6145

I overlocked the whole dress (except for the darts) so it was a very quick make, I know that the common perception is that shift dresses aren’t for everyone, but this pattern has lovely french darts in the front and two darts in the back which I think make for a great shape and help me out as I think I have a bit of a swayback and so fabric tends to gather there.

I did my usual practice of taking a few inches off the hem and took the back neckline down by 4cm, this used to baffle me as to why I needed to do this but as I am learning more about fit I think it is because I need to make petite adjustments to patterns (I’m only 5’3) and my bust to shoulder length is quite short, I’ve only just figured this out so will be trying to put it into practice soon..fingers crossed.

Does anyone have any recommendations on petite alterations or a good book on fitting?

Thanks x

3 thoughts on “Another New Look 6145

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment, the respect is mutual (cos your blog obviously awesome) Weirdly I first saw the Carly pattern on a blog post (or instagram picture) of yours and thought I have to have that pattern!!! (as you do..!!) If your thinking of making it I don’t thank you’ll be disappointed, its super comfy and stylish, without feeling too ‘done’ if you get my meaning!!!!

  1. Pingback: Me Made May…….I made it!!!! | bedlam + bird

Leave a Reply

