A quick duo

During a recent rare ‘just gonna sewing’ day I had a craving for a quick make that would  satisfy and deliver, so reached for the simple and chic Simplicity 1366. I had been tempted by seeing this pattern popping up on sewing blogs, like here, here and here…pretty inspiring no??!! So took the leap.

simplicity 1366

(Arrggh..excuse my hands, which look freakishly huge..they’re not, must be the camera angle right??)

simplicity 1366

 

There thats better!!

simplicity 1366

This fabric is a £1 ebay purchase that I have been reliably informed is peachskin, something I have not worked with before, but love, its definitely polyester, but feels lovely and has great drape, but can be as slippery as rayon or silk so beware. It was originally destined to be a shirt but I didn’t quite have enough, so a 1366 it is.

The pattern has only 4 pieces so comes together fast and easy, the only issue I had with it was with the bias binding for the neckline, on the navy one I followed the instructions which has you fold the binding length says and attach to the neckline on the right side and then understitich, this leaves the bias binding standing up slightly, which looked rotten on me so I turned it inwards and re stitched again so it became a quasi facing. This may have been a problem that I created, as I had shortened the top part of the bodice as an petite fit experiment to reducing the amount of excess fabric that I usually have either at the shoulder or at the neckline, but I can’t see how.

Turning the binding inwards worked with the navy broad anglais as the fabric is thicker but didn’t work so well with the peachskin, and I’m not completely happy with the finish (it doesn’t lie very flat) so will probably take it out and redo the neckline with  a proper facing, I know a lot of people don’t like facings but I love the finish they give.

simplicity 1366

(Sorry, I realise that this picture is a bit rubbish and out of focus!) you’ll have to trust me that the fabric is a lovely broad anglais that was gifted to me by a lovely friend, and it’s slightly more purply than the photo shows.

The result is two fast makes that are totally wearable (not always a given!) and have already been in rotation.

 

4 thoughts on “A quick duo

  1. Pingback: Me Made May…….I made it!!!! | bedlam + bird

  2. Pingback: nani Iro…I love you | bedlam + bird

Leave a Reply

