A little Coco

It was during this post by Sonja about coats, that I first discovered Schnittchen patterns and then fell for the lovely Coco jacket. I’ve been want to make a little crop jacket for awhile and thought that this would be a good start and the fact that it was a pdf sealed the deal (at €5.00 it would be rude not to, right?). I don’t know about you but I love the idea of pdf’s but recently the novelty of sticking all those pieces of paper together is wearing thin. I don’t think I will stop buying them as financially they make sense (most of the time) but guess I just need to alternate them with the joy of opening an old style tissue pattern.

Now this little lady has a lot of pages to piece together, 36 in all!!!, which was a bit of a faff but there is separate pattern pieces for the lining and facings, so kind of makes sense, once your all finished!

coco schnittchen jacket

 

She came together relatively easy, the instructions are good but some knowledge will help you along as there aren’t any drawing to assist you. The fabric is a lovely dense patterned cotton that I bought at Fabrics Galore (sadly its not for sale on the website, just in shop), I love the fabric pattern but in hindsight it is probably a tad to thick for this jacket, as I had a job to get the seam on the neckline to sit flat, a issue I have whenever I sew with thicker fabrics, so maybe the problem is with me and not the fabric!!

The one difficulty with this fabric was with pattern matching, some thing I usually avoid (as in, not buying fabric that will require any!!) but I took the challenge and think that I didn’t do half bad at matching the sleeves to the bodice….but..

coco schnittchen

 

…totally failed at matching the back seams…duh

coco schnittchen jacket

 

Luckily I can’t see it so it doesn’t bother me when I am wearing it (especially as I did that seam 3 times and then gave up). The whole jacket was a pretty quick make and I’m happy with the results, of course the weather turned just as she was finished but think that come spring she will get some wear.

 

5 thoughts on “A little Coco

  1. Pingback: Me Made May…….I made it!!!! | bedlam + bird

Leave a Reply

