Introducing Ginger (and exciting news)

So in keeping with my New Years resolution of avoiding grey fabric, I instead went in the other direction and chose a fab lurid floral to make the ever so simple Colette Ginger skirt.

colette ginger skirt

I am loving the print and the vibrancy of the flowers (it is countering the bleak coldness of winter currently upon us!!!), the no grey is definitely feeling like the right move, I do have to remind myself as I still tend to gravitate towards it in the fabric shop but once this skirt was made up I couldn’t wait to get it on.

I am usually not a ‘tuck your top in kind’ kind of gal but this skirt was just begging to be shown off and looked quite frumpy with the top on the outside, I’ve discovered that creating the illusion of a waist is beneficial to my rectangular shape (instead of trying to cover it up), proving it’s never too late to learn new tricks.

colette ginger skirt

The skirt comes together ridiculously easy with just 4 skirt panels,  6 waistband pieces and an invisible zip. In hindsight I probably should have omitted the front seam as my fabric is quite stiff, but I just stayed true to the pattern. Because of the stiffness of the fabric the a-line of the skirt is more pronounced than i usually wear but I kind of like that, especially as a winter look with the jumper and boots.

colette ginger skirt

 

Soooooooo………

The exciting news is that I will be teaching how to make this pattern over at the lovely space that is The Old School Club, I am super excited to be asked to do this and the Ginger Skirt is the first class, followed by the Colette Laurel and the fabulous By Hand London Anna Dress, you can find all the details here,

Can you tell I’m happy about this ????

 

colette ginger skirt

 

x

 

12 thoughts on “Introducing Ginger (and exciting news)

  1. It looks fab – I love the bright colours with the navy top and boots. I’ve made the Ginger skirt a few times and it never disappoints. It’s a perfect pattern for teaching a class – big congratulations on that by the way, how exciting!

Leave a Reply

