Dress of Meh

Now don’t get me wrong I love this pattern, which is Robe Eve by Republique du chiffon, it’s just I made this for my Christmas dress and I had high hopes, I chose a fabric which I loved in the shop (a paul smith cotton) but now that it is made up it just looks so….. meh….unexciting, dull and boring, so much so that it prompted my New years goal of NO MORE GREY FABRIC!!!!!!!

 

république du chiffon robe eve

 

P1040648

I have lusted after Republique du chiffons patterns for a while and decided to take the leap, now I could have ordered one of the patterns that have english instruction, but nooooo, in a mad moment I ordered two with french instruction…..how hard can they be I thought….ha little did I know. Of course I had to chose one of the more difficult ones, as it turns out though we live in a great age, with the use of google translate and lovely french sewers who contact you on instagram and point you towards their own (fantastic) versions, with construction details ..…very handy.

république du chiffon robe eve

The fabric is a lovely paul smith cotton, bought once again from my staple fabric shop Fabric Galore, it is my local fabric shop so most of my stash comes from there!! It’s a little heavier than shirting cotton and is really lovely but made into this dress I think it brings back memories of my grey student midwife uniform that I had to wear for 3 years and I think that’s why I have such a distaste for it, I did actually wear it for Chirstmas (cos I’m stubborn and since it was made I had to give it an outing), but lets just day it hasn’t seen the light of day since then!!!!

Paul smith cotton

république du chiffon robe eve

The pattern came together pretty easily, once I submitted to google translate and Upon a thread’s instruction on how to attach the facing was invaluable, as you have to do it with on side of the zip facing in, one side with the facing out, one of those sewing moments when it all seems very complicated and the you actually work it out and it’s aahhhahhhh!! thats how its done. I did make the mistake of not making the notches on the facing or the dress so the bottom curve could probably sit a little straighter as it pooches slightly.

république du chiffon robe eve

I really valued the challenge of this make, its good to push your boundaries…isn’t it?? I do like that aesthetic of the pattern and I will try to make to again, but probably in a print so it doesn’t feel like a uniform!!  I still have the second pattern (Roger trench) to test me further so might be doing that first…fingers crossed.

x

 

 

10 thoughts on “Dress of Meh

  1. Pingback: Me Made May…….I made it!!!! | bedlam + bird

  2. Pingback: Hello autumn | bedlam + bird

Leave a Reply

